Korean War vets honored on 60th anniversary

In observance of the 60th anniversary of the conclusion of the Korean War, the Hawaii House of Representatives recently honored several Korean War veterans and organizations on the House floor.

On June 25, 1950 a civil conflict between North Korea and South Korea divided the country as soldiers from the North Korean Communist army crossed the 38th parallel and invaded South Korea.

In response, President Harry Truman, with support of the United Nations (UN) Security Council, ordered the United States Army to provide aid and support to the South Koreans.

More than 5 million Americans risked their lives and served throughout the following three years of the Korean War.

Veterans of the conflict established the 20th chapter of the Korean War Veterans Association.

Since 1996, Hawaii Chapter 1 has furthered the expansion of nationally chartered Korean War Veterans chapters on all islands, including the Big Island Chapter, West Hawaii Chapter, Maui No Ka Oi Chapter, Kauai Chapter and the Aloha Chapter in Honolulu.

Hawaii Chapter 1 has taken the leadership role in all of the Korean War Veterans events in Hawaii and has been honored by Honolulu’s Korean community as the key Korean War veterans organization in the state.

Introduced by Rep. K. Mark Takai of Aiea, HR 30 honors those special individuals whose initiative, professionalism and dedication to the United States Armed Forces strongly influenced the lives of those they touch with courage, bravery and brotherhood.

“As a member of the armed forces, I truly understand the commitment and sacrifice of those who have chosen to serve our country over the course of our nation’s history,” Takai said. “I am proud to honor and express my deep appreciation to all Korean War veterans for their dedicated service to our nation.”

Veterans honored in person on the House floor included Herbert Schreiner and Lucio Sada Sanico of the Korean War Veterans Association, Hawaii Chapter 1; Martin Pestana, 5th Regimental Combat Team; Robert Sugel, Military Order of the Purple Heart; and Jimmy Shin, Soon Lee, Jung Chae and Albert Nakamura of the Korean War Veterans Association, Aloha Chapter.


Rules for posting comments