Sunday | October 22, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Outstanding Older Americans

The County Office of Aging honored 16 nominees at its annual Outstanding Older Americans Award Luncheon May 3 at the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel.

A capacity crowd of 300 cheered as Marjorie C. Mrasek of Waikoloa and Joseph R. Ah Choy Sr. of Ookala were named the 2012 Outstanding Older Americans for Hawaii County. The two honorees will also be Hawaii County’s representatives at the annual governor’s reception later in Honolulu.

In addition to the Outstanding Male and Female Older American awards, the following special awards were presented: Community Service Award, to Cecilia K. Torres-Kaiewe of Keaau and Gerald M. Otomo of Hilo; Senior Activities Award, to Margaret Torigoe of Hilo and Rodrigo “Rudy” M. Peralta of Papaaloa; Personal Achievement Award to Sally Yamaguchi of Pahala, John C. Creelman of Waimea and Thomas M. Wright of Pahala; the Golden Years Award to Clyde J. Jackson of Waikoloa and Joseph R. Ah Choy Sr. of Ookala.

“The Partners in Eldercare Partnership Awardees were AARP and the Hawaii Alliance for Retired Americans for their advocacy and promotion of legislative action to create policies to address our common need for economic security, health care and quality of life,” said Pauline Fukunaga of the County Office of Aging.