Flower shows, festivals showcase spring blooms


Associated Press

NEW YORK — Snow is still in the forecast for some locales, but other places are getting ready for spring.

And the season’s beauty will be on display with festivals and flower shows around the country, from events showcasing cherry blossoms in Washington D.C. and Brooklyn, N.Y., to celebrations of dogwoods, camellias and azaleas in the South, to apple blossom and tulip festivals in the Northwest.

Here are some of the best and biggest festivals and flower shows around the U.S. this spring, along with some notable botanical gardens where something is always in bloom.

EVENTS

l Atlanta Dogwood Festival, April 19-21, Piedmont Park, Atlanta, http://www.dogwood.org/

l Biltmore Blooms Festival of Flowers, March 21-May 31, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, N.C., http://www.biltmore.com

l Boston Flower & Garden Show, March 13-17, Seaport World Trade Center, Boston, http://www.bostonflowershow.com/

l Camellia Walks, through March 23, Middleton Place, Charleston, S.C., http://www.middletonplace.org/

l Celebrate Spring, March 1-April 30, Callaway Gardens, Pine Mountain, Ga., http://www.callawaygardens.com/

l Chicago Flower & Garden Show, March 9-17, Navy Pier, Chicago, http://www.chicagoflower.com

l Daffodil Days, April 6-28, Blithewold Mansion, Gardens & Arboretum, Bristol, R.I., http://www.blithewold.org

l Daffodil Festival, April 26-28, Nantucket, Mass., http://www.nantucketchamber.org

l Dallas Blooms, March 2-April 7, Dallas Arboretum, http://www.dallasarboretum.org

l Epcot International Flower and Garden Festival, March 6-May 19, Walt Disney World, Lake Buena Vista, Fla., https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/events-tours/epcot/epcot-international...

l Festival of Flowers, March 21-24, Bellingrath Gardens, Theodore, Ala. (near Mobile), http://www.bellingrath.org

l Garden Conservancy’s Open Days (more than 300 private gardens in 18 states open to public on select dates March-November), http://www.opendaysprogram.org

l Hatsume Fair, March 23-24, Morikami Museum and Japanese Gardens, Delray Beach, Fla., http://www.morikami.org/

l Garden Club of Virginia’s Historic Garden Week, tours at various sites April 20-27, http://www.VAGardenweek.org

l Lilac Festival, May 10-19, Rochester, N.Y., http://www.lilacfestival.com/

l National Cherry Blossom Festival, March 20-April 14, Washington, D.C., http://www.nationalcherryblossomfestival.org/

l Philadelphia Flower Show, March 2-10, Pennsylvania Convention Center, Philadelphia, http://www.philaflowershow.com

l Sakura Matsuri Festival, April 27-28, Brooklyn Botanic Garden, Brooklyn, N.Y., http://www.bbg.org

l San Francisco Flower & Garden Show, March 20-24, San Mateo Event Center, San Mateo, Calif., http://sfgardenshow.com/

l Shenandoah Apple Blossom Festival, April 26-May 5, Winchester, Va., http://www.thebloom.com

l Skagit Valley Tulip Festival, April 1-30, Mount Vernon, Wash., http://www.tulipfestival.org/

l Tulip Time Festival, Holland, Mich,, May 4-11, http://www.holland.org/visitors/tulip-time-festival/

l Tulip Time, May 2-4, Pell, Iowa, http://www.pellatuliptime.com/tulip-time/

l Washington State Apple Blossom Festival, April 25-May 5, Wenatchee, Wash., http://www.appleblossom.org/

l Wistaria Festival, March 17, Sierra Madre, Calif., http://www.sierramadrenews.net/?page—id=259

PLACES

l Bloedel Reserve, Bainbridge Island, Wash., http://www.bloedelreserve.org

l Cleveland Botanical Garden, Cleveland, http://www.cbgarden.org/

l Desert Botanical Garden, Phoenix, http://www.dbg.org

l Dumbarton Oaks Gardens, Washington D.C., http://www.doaks.org/

l Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden, Coral Gables, Fla., http://www.fairchildgarden.org/

l Garden in the Woods, Framingham, Mass., http://www.newfs.org

l Holden Arboretum, Kirtland, Ohio, http://www.holdenarb.org

l International Rose Test Garden, Washington Park, Portland, Ore., http://washingtonparkpdx.org/attractions/

l Huntington Botanical Gardens, San Marino, Calif., http://www.huntington.org

l Lan Su Chinese Garden, Portland, Ore., http://www.portlandchinesegarden.org/

l Longwood Gardens, Kennett Square, Pa., http://www.longwoodgardens.org

l Magnolia Plantation & Gardens, Charleston, S.C., http://www.magnoliaplantation.com

l Missouri Botanical Garden, St. Louis, Mo., http://www.mobot.org

l New York Botanical Garden, Bronx, New York, http://www.nybg.org

l San Francisco Botanical Garden, Golden Gate Park, San Francisco, http://www.sfbotanicalgarden.org

l U.S. Botanic Garden Conservatory, Washington, D.C., http://www.usbg.gov

l Wave Hill, Bronx, N.Y., http://www.wavehill.org

l Winterthur Garden, Winterthur, Del., http://www.winterthur.org

 

Rules for posting comments