Tuesday | November 21, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Iolani, Mid-Pac get top seeds


Oahu powerhouses Iolani and Mid-Pacific have been awarded the top Division I and II seeds, respectively, in the Girls Soccer State Championships this week on Oahu.

The 12-team tournaments will run concurrently Wednesday through Saturday at the Waipio Peninsula Soccer Complex. The championships are sponsored by Outrigger Hotels & Resorts.

The D-I tournament’s top seeds are No. 1 Iolani (10-1-1, ILH champ), No. 2 Mililani (12-0-1, OIA champ), No. 3 Kamehameha-Maui (12-2-0, MIL champ) and No. 4 Konawaena (11-1-1, BIIF champ).

The D-II tournament’s top seeds are No. 1 Mid-Pacific (4-7-1), No. 2 Kapaa (6-1-2, KIF champ), No. 3 Hawaii Prep (10-1-2, BIIF champ) and No. 4 Radford (4-8-1).

The top four seeds in each tournament draw opening-round byes Wednesday and play in the quarterfinals.

In D-I first-round action at 3 p.m. Wednesday, it’s King Kekaulike (10-2-2) vs. Moanalua (11-2-0) on Field 5, Kaiser (11-1-1) vs. Waianae (8-5-1) on Field 2, BIIF runner-up Kealakehe (10-1-2) vs. Kahuku (8-3-3) on Field 7 and Punahou (10-1-1) vs. Pearl City (7-2-4) on Field 8.

In the D-I quartefinals Thursday on the main stadium field, it’s No. 4 seed Konawaena vs. the Kaiser/Waianae winner at 1 p.m., No. 3 seed Kamehameha-Maui vs. the Punahou/Pearl City winner at 3 p.m., No. 2 seed Mililani vs. the Kealakehe/Kahuku winner at 5 p.m., and No. 1 seed Iolani vs. the King Kekaulike/Moanalua winner at 7 p.m.

In D-II first-round action at 3 p.m. Wednesday, it’s BIIF runner-up Kamehameha-Hawaii (9-4-0) vs. Leilehua (3-8-1) on Field 9, Seabury Hall (3-6-4) vs. Kauai (6-2-2) on Field 10, Nanakuli (5-7-1) vs. BIIF third-place finisher Honokaa (6-5-1) on Field 11, and Kalaheo (4-7-1) vs. BIIF fourth-place finisher Makua Lani (4-8-0) on Field 12.

In the quarterfinals at 3 p.m. Thursday, it’s No. 1 seed vs. the Kamehameha-Hawaii/Leilehua winner on Field 9, No. 4 Radford vs. the Seabury Hall/Kauai winner on Field 10, No. 2 Kapaa vs. the Nanakuli/Honokaa winner on Field 11, and No. 4 seed Hawaii Prep vs. the Kalaheo/Makua Lani winner on Field 12.


Rules for posting comments