Wednesday | February 22, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Min leads Waiakea to another BIIF girls golf title


No surprise, the Waiakea girls golf team is on top again

Senior Ciera Min pulled away from the field Wednesday with a 1-under 71 at Waikoloa Kings’ Course as the Warriors wrapped up their 10th consecutive Big Island Interscholastic Federation girls golf title.

Min got hot with a 33 on the front nine and equaled the season-low that she shot April 4 at Waikoloa Village.

Because of their Gonzaga-bound golfer, the Lady Warriors are a good bet to produce the individual champion for the 10th straight year. The first round of the 54-hole BIIF finals tees off at 11 a.m. Sunday at Hualalai.

In the five tournaments the defending league champion played this season, Min won two and shared medalist honors twice with teammate Shaina Mizusawa, who was 10 strokes back in second Wednesday. Waiakea’s Andi Igawa (83) was third.

The Warriors trio combined to win all six regular-season events. Mizusawa won March 29 at Hilo Municipal Golf Course — Min was runner-up — and Igawa was coming off a victory at Mauna Lani.

In the boys competition, Hilo’s Davin Yagi carded a 72 to take medalist honors for the second time this season, edging Hawaii Preparatory Academy’s Andrew Paisley and Kealakehe’s Steve Kim by a stroke.

Wednesday at Waikoloa Kings’ Course

Par 72


Ciera Min, Waiakea 33-38—71

Shaina Mizusawa, Waiakea 40-41—81

Andi Igawa, Waiakea 41-42—83

Shantel Antonio, Kamehameha 46-40—86

Healani Kaaihili, Kamehameha 47-48—95

Annie Sadamoto, Hilo 47-49—96

Kelsy Nishimura, Hilo 48-48—96

Katie Jefferson, Hawaii Prep 54-45—99

Channing Waugh, Hilo 52-48—100

Juby Aipoalani, Hilo 50-50—100

Alana Manuia, Kamehameha 56-56—112


1. Waiakea, 235; 2. Hilo, 292; 3. Kamehameha, 293


Davin Yagi, Hilo 33-39—72

Andrew Paisley, Hawaii Prep 35-38—73

Steve Kim, Kealakehe 34-39—73

Evan Kasberg, Parker 37-40—77

Trevor Hirata, Waiakea 39-38—77

Casey Nakatsu, Hilo 39-40—79

Pono Ng, Makua Lani 39-40—79

Aidan Alcos, Makua Lani 41-40—81

Liam Tsue, Hilo 42-40—82

Luigi Balbo, Hawaii Prep 40-42—82

Jusin Macy, Hawaii Prep 39-43—82

Max Elster, Parker 39-44—83

Joshua Kitagawa, Hilo 41-43—84

Hoeueu Greenwell, Konawaena 41-44—85

Coby Iida, Waiakea 45-41—86

Eric Kagawa, Waiakea 48-41—89

Josiah Lerback, Konawaeana 43-48—91

Luigi Remo, Kealakehe 42-50—92

Bram Paikuli, Kamehameha 51-42—93

Brentson Kinoshita, Waiakea 45-50—95

Robby Omija, Konawaena 51-50—101

Jun-Young Pyo, Waiakea 50-52—102

Mavrick Mahi, Kamehameha 55-49—104

Steven Kilkenny, Makua Lani 47-58—105

Cainin Francis, Kamehameha 53-53—106

Jacy Higa, Kamehameha 59-52—111

Paele Kiakona, Kamehameha 64-57— 121


1. Hilo, 317; 2. Waiakea, 347; 3. Kamehameha, 414


Rules for posting comments