Wednesday | August 31, 2016
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Nakatsu, Yagi help Vikings clinch BIIF boys crown


The Hilo boys golf team won for the fifth time in as many Big Island Interscholastic Federation tournaments this season to wrap up the league title.

Kamehameha’s Cody Pereira and Parker’s Max Elster each 4-over 76s to tie for medalist honors Monday at Mauna Lani’s North Course.

Casey Nakatsu carded a 79 and was fourth as the Vikings, coached by Randy Pak, unseated nine-time defending champion Waiakea.

All four Hilo boys golfers finished in the top 20, including Davin Yagi (80) — who tied for fifth with Konawaena’s Hoeueu Greenwell — Liam Tsue (86) and Joshua Kitagawa (89).

Yagi has been his team’s most consistent performer this season, finishing each meet in the top five, and winning last Thursday at Waikoloa Village. Nakatsu has five top-10 finishes to his credit.

Waiakea’s Andi Igawa (79) finished a shot ahead of teammate Shaina Mizusawa to win her first tournament of the season. The junior is the third different Warriors golfer to finish on the top line this season. Mizusawa and defending BIIF champion Ciera Min, who didn’t compete Monday, have shared top honors twice, and each has a win outright.

The Hilo girls, led by Amanda Loeffler (90) in third, were the only team that had enough golfers compete to post a team score Monday, so Waiakea takes a two-point edge over the Vikings heading into the final tournament of regular season April 17 at Waikoloa Kings’ Course. The Warriors won the first four tournaments with relative ease.

Pereira pocketed his second victory of the season, while Elster used the best back nine of the day (35) for his first win and best score of the season. After shooting in the mid-80s during three East Hawaii meets, Elster’s scores have improved of late. He carded a 77 at Waikoloa Village.

Waiakea freshman Trevor Hirata was a stroke off the pace in third Monday.

The first round of the BIIF tournament tees off April 21 at Hualalai.

Monday at Makua Lani

Par 72


Team: *Hilo, 334; Hawaii Prep, 344; Waiakea, 345; Kamehameha, 356; Konawaena, 357; Makua Lani, 380; St. Joseph, 564

*-Clinches BIIF championship


Cody Pereira, Kamehameha 40-36—76

Max Elster, Parker 41-35—76

Trevor Hirata, Waiakea 38-39—77

Casey Nakatsu, Hilo 38-41—79

Davin Yagi, Hilo 42-38—80

Hoeueu Greenwell, Konawaena 41-39—80

Pono Ng, Makua Lani 41-41—82

Ryan Vazquez, Hawaii Prep 41-42—83

Steve Kim, Kealakehe 41-42—83

Evan Kasberg, Parker 44-39—83

Luigi Balbo, Hawaii Prep 45-39—84

Preston Ching, Kamehameha 38-46—84

Luigi Remo, Kealakehe 42-42—84

Brentson Kinoshita, Waiakea 42-43—85

Liam Tsue, Hilo 41-45—86

Ahren Ah Chong, Kamehameha 41-45—86

Justin Macy, Hawai Prep 40-48—88

Robby Omija, Konawaena 46-42—88

Joshua Kitagawa, Hilo 44-45—89

Andrew Paisley, Hawaii Prep 48-41—89

Coby Iida, Waiakea 50-40—90

Josiah Lerback, Konawaena 45-48—93

Aidan Alcos, Maku Lani 47-46—93

Eric Kagawa, Waiakea 49-44—93

Steven Kilkenny, Makua Lani 49-46—95

Brant Yamamoto, Konawaena 50-46—96

Bram Paikuli, Kamehameha 49-51—100

Chase Narimatsu, Waiakea 48 54 102

Edgar Barclay, St. Joseph 51-56—107

Elijah Lingenfelder, Makua Lani 54-56—110

Jacy Higa, Kamehameha 59-54—113

Dayral Nakamoto, Kealakehe 66- 51—127

Koa Galves, St. Joseph 64-63—127

Bo Bleckel, Hawaii Prep 75-64—139

Jonathan Uhlmann, St, Joseph 68-73—151

David Brunner, Makua Lani 81-95—176

John Lindenau, St. Joseph 69-110—179


Team: Hilo, 289


Andi Igawa, Waiakea 40-39—79

Shaina Mizusawa, Waiakea 40-40—80

Shantel Antonio, Kamehameha 42-41—83

Amanda Loeffler, Hilo 46-44—90

Kelsy Nishimura, Hilo 48-51—99

Katie Jefferson, Hawaii Prep 51-48—99

Juby Aipoalani, Hilo 52-48—100

Channing Waugh, Hilo 53-49—102

Alana Manuia, Kamehameha 60-53—113

Karissa Komo, Makua Lani 61-61—122


Rules for posting comments