Friday | July 01, 2016
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

State basketball all-tournament teams


Hawaii Prep’s Jovan Crnic and Pahoa’s Nick Fisher were named to the all-tournament team at the Hawaii High School Athletic Association’s State Boys Division II Basketball Tournament.

Crnic, a 6-foot-4 senior point guard, led the Ka Makani to their second straight third-place finish in the eight-team tournament held in Honolulu. Fourth-seeded Hawaii Prep fell to No. 1 seed St. Francis 55-53 on a last-second shot in the semifinals, then rolled over Maui’s Seabury Hall 76-52 in the third place game Saturday at Blaisdell Arena.

Fisher, a 6-1 guard/forward, led Pahoa to a fifth-place finish in the state D-II tournament. The young Daggers defeated Waianae 47-42 in the fifth place battle on Saturday at Blaisdell.

In Saturday night’s D-II final, St. Francis defeated No. 2 seed Kailua 39-34 to claim the title.

St. Francis’ Matthew Nuumania was selected the D-II tournament’s most outstanding player. He was joined on the all-tourney squad by Crnic, Fisher, Kailua’s Kirk Ronolo, Jr. and St. Francis’ Austin Ursua and Keoni Tom-Millare.

In the state D-I tournament final Saturday night at Blaisdell, second-seeded Kalaheo rallied to beat top-seeded Maryknoll 60-54 in overtime. Senior guard Josh Ko led the champion Mustangs with 26 points.

In the third-place game, Punahou beat No. 4 Konawaena 67-41 and in the fifth place contest, Baldwin topped No. 3 King Kekaulike 50-35.

Kalaheo’s Ko was named the state D-I tournament’s most outstanding player. He was joined on the all-tourney squad by teammate Derick Morgan, Maryknoll’s Tobias Schramm, Kaleb Gilmore and Joshua Burnett, and Punahou’s Nick Velasquez.

The state D-I and II championship games were televised live on OC16.

The complete final results and game statistics can be found at


Rules for posting comments