Sunday | November 19, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

A win-win situation for campers, coaches

Over 150 youngsters and coaches participated in the inaugural Coach Jimmy Yagi Summer Basketball Camp held July 31-Aug. 3 in Hilo.

University of Hawaii at Manoa women’s head basketball coach Laura Beeman, University of Hawaii at Hilo women’s head basketball coach David Kaneshiro and UH-Hilo men’s head basketball coach GE Coleman joined several former collegiate players and current high school coaches in providing personalized instructions during the skill-development camp.

Under the guidance of lead clinician Bill O’Rear, a former UH-Hilo Vulcan standout, campers were taught passing, ball handling and other basketball skills during daily drills conducted both at Afook-Chinen Civic Auditorium and the Panaewa Covered Play Courts. Participants then returned each afternoon to practice the techniques in games.

Sponsored by the Hawaii County Department of Parks and Recreation, the Hawaii Police Department’s HI-PAL Program, and the nonprofit Big Island All-Stars, the camp was open to boys and girls 9-17 years old. More than 50 teens participated in the senior division, while another 83 signed up for the youth division.

The camp was named in honor of former UH-Hilo men’s basketball coach Jimmy Yagi, who coached the Vulcans for 18 years and helped guide the Vulcans-Hawaii Basketball School for 37 years. Coach Yagi, who has conducted basketball camps on several continents and worked with some of the sport’s biggest stars, offered campers instruction, inspirational messages and even a display of his impressive collection of basketball memorabilia.

Parks Director Clayton Honma served as the camp director and described the camp as “a huge success.”

Award certificates were presented to campers who impressed the coaches with their hard work, helped to inspire their teammates or displayed the teamwork, dedication and commitment Coach Yagi instilled in his players.

The following received certificates:

Coach Jimmy

Yagi Award

9-12 Age Group

• Boy: Josiah Rodrigues

• Girl: Megan Baldado

13-17 Age Group

• Boy: Tolby Saito

• Girl – Kizzah Maltezo

Coaches’ Award

9-10 Age Group

Keirstyn Agonias, Veda-Lynne Galima, Leah Hara, Kayla Iwata, Dominic Rodriguez, Jaycie Nishimura, Bronson Klein

11-12 Age Group

Keani Midel, Meghan Wong, Bobby Castillo Jr., Kelsie Imai, Jaeda Yamasaki

13-17 Age Group

• Ezekiel Jordan Narido, Cole deSilva, Jenna Rose Anuhea Kahikina, Chailey Cabalis, Camren Statler-Ellamar, Mikayla Tablit

Inspirational Award

9-10 Age Group

Frank Hatori-Rodrigues, Paul Isotani Jr., Jayden Benevides, Scott Hakoda

11-12 Age Group

• Dominique Pacheco, Michelle Vintero, Sara Iwahiro, Aisha Haley Bianchi

13-17 Age Group

Sharlei Graham-Bernisto, Tony Dollwet

Senior Leadership Award

• Aliyah Pana and Dillon Rellez


Rules for posting comments