Tuesday | November 21, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Big Island briefs

Bug-In race results


The Big Island Auto Club and Big Island VW Club annual Bug-In was held April 19-20 at the Hilo Drag Strip.

Results follow:



• Team Germany (VW) vs. Team Japan (sports compact). Behind the power performance of Laramie DeCoito (Hilo) and his Toyota, Team Japan edged Team Germany 5-4.

Winner: Laramie DeCoito won the final round with a run of 12.23 sec/94 mph. Runner-up John Brock (Kauai) and his VW bug turned in time of 13.13 sec/99 mph.


• Junior Dragsters bracket race winner: Daesha Tobara (Mt. View) won a 2 out of 3 race with a time of 10.30 sec/60 mph. Runner-up Kaimi Francis (Hilo) turned in a time of 9.70 sec/62.5 mph. Tobara won on a hole shot.

• VW Quick 8 (Bracket 1) winner: Joe Anderson (Kailua-Kona) in a dune buggy won the event with a time of 11.12 sec/119 mph. Tommy Gaspar (Captain Cook) was runner-up in a VW digger with a time of 16.53 sec/68 mph.

• VW Bracket 2 winner: Don Canda (Hilo) in a VW bug with a time of 11.55 sec/108 mph. Kenneth Chang (Hilo) was runner-up in a VW bug with a time of 12.05 sec/110 mph.

• Sports Compact bracket winner: Keylen Chang (Hilo) in a VW bug with a time of 16.87sec/74 mph. Cain Francis (Honokaa) was runner-up in a Toyota pickup truck with a red light time of 16.33 sec/83 mph.

• Team VW vs Team Japan (sports compact) winner: Keylen Chang (Hilo) in a VW bug with a time of 15.38 sec/76 mph. Runner-up: Don Canda (Hilo) in a VW bug with a break out time of 11.32 sec/118 mph.

Team Japan won both team competitions (Saturday and Sunday).

Next race: Memorial Day Drags, 24 May and 25 May 2014 at the Hilo Drag Strip.

Reported by Russell Roberts



pitchers results


A sanctioned horseshoe pitchers tournament was held April 12 at the Kona Palms Courts in Kailua Kona.

Results follow:


A Class Division

1st Place - Enrique Madera (Hilo)

2nd Place - Linda Taketa (Kona)

3rd Place - Tiffany Ferreira (Kona)

B Class Division

1st Place - Theresa Ha’alilio (Hilo)

2nd Place - Hans Haynes (Kona)

3rd Place - Bill Rodrigues Kaiwa (Hilo)

C Class Division

1st Place - Charles Hymons (Kona)

2nd Place - Dennis Brokofsky (Oceanview)

3rd Place - Daniel Consolacion (Hilo)

D Class Division

1st Place - Darlene Calles Christian (Hilo)

2nd Place- Amanda Christian (Hilo)

3rd Place - Scott Mello (Kona)

Participants are registered with the NHPA (National Horseshoe Pitchers Association) and are required to fulfill two sanctioned tournaments in ordered to enter the upcoming Hawaii State Horseshoe Singles Tournament.

The state tournament will be held Aug. 30-31 in Hilo at the Uncle David K. Calles Sr. Horseshoe Courts.

Further information, contact David Calles Sr. 937-7860.


Hawaii Island

Hoops Camp


The 2014 Hawaii Island Hoops College-Prep Basketball Camp will be held June 16-20 at the Konawaena High School Gym.

The camp, under the direction of Andy Smith, offers skill development for youngsters and introduces them to college-style workouts and training.

Smith will be joined on the teaching staff by college coaches from the junior college, NAIA and NCAA levels.

The camp fee is $350 and includes a Nike reversible jersey and shorts, college coaching and instruction, all meals, daily seminars on academic requirements, financial aid and athletic recruitment, plus a beach trip.

For more information and registration, go to www.HawaiiIslandHoops.com or email Smith at: Director@hawaiiislandhoops.com.


UHH Athletic

Hall of Fame


The University of Hawaii at Hilo Vulcans Athletic Hall of Fame is accepting nominations.

Categories for prospective honorees are athlete, coach, administrator and community member.

Athlete nominees must have completed their eligibility at UH Hilo and completed their playing days at the end of the spring 2008 season. Exceptions may be made for inability to complete due to physical/medical reasons. Graduation from UH Hilo is not a requirement, but graduates will receive preference from the selection committee.

Coach, administrator or community nominees must have made significant contributions that enhanced the image of Vulcan Athletics. A coach or administrator must not have served the UH Hilo Athletic Department in a paid capacity within the past five years. There is no waiting period for community nominees.

The nomination deadline is May 31 for Fall induction.

Nominations forms are available on the web at hiloathletics.com under the traditions dropdown. Inquiries may be directed to Hall of Fame coordinator Joey Estrella at josephe@hawaii.edu or by calling 932-7168.



Rules for posting comments