Saturday | June 24, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Pomroy wins first golf meet; Waiakea boys take BIIF team title


Kamehameha has its own talented freshman in Kalai Pomroy, who won his first Big Island Interscholastic Federation golf meet on Wednesday.

Pomroy shot a 3-over-par 75 at Kohanaiki Golf and Ocean Club under warm weather and calm conditions to edge Waiakea standout freshman Shon Katahira by seven strokes.

Kamehameha compiled a 359-shot total to take the team title. Cody Pereira had an 86, Ahren Ah Chong shot a 98 and John Andrade carded a 100.

Behind Katahira’s 82, sophomore Trevor Hirata fired an 11-over 86 to help Waiakea take second with a 361 total. Brentson Kinoshita and Chase Narimatsu shot 96 and 97, respectively.

Despite a second-place finish, Waiakea wrapped up the BIIF team title. It’s the Warriors’ 10th title in the last 11 years; Hilo won it last year.

Waiakea senior Andi Igawa is now 6 for 6 in BIIF meets. She shot an 88 to defeat Kamehameha junior Shantel Antonio by seven shots.

Antonio’s round of 95 was followed by teammates Healani Kaaihili and Alana Manuia’s identical scores of 107.

Kamehameha took the team title with a 309 total. Hilo captured the BIIF team championship last week at the Waikoloa Kings Course.

The first round of the BIIF individual championships, start at 10 a.m. Sunday, April 20 at Hualalai. The second round is Tuesday, April 22 at Hokulia, and the final round is Thursday, April 24 at Mauna Kea Beach.

BIIF golf results

Wednesday at Kohanaiki

Par 72


Kalai Pomroy, Kamehameha, 75; Shon Katahira, Waiakea, 82; Matthew Rosato, Makua Lani, 85; Trevor Hirata, Waiakea, 86; Cody Pereira, Kamehameha, 86; Casey Nakatsu, Hilo, 88; Josiah Lerback, Konawaena, 90; Luigi Balbo, HPA, 91; Luigi Remo, Kealakehe, 91; Cody Hamane, Hilo, 93; Brent Nikaitani, Kona, 94; Brentson Kinoshita, 96; Chase Narimatsu, Waiakea, 97; Aian Alcos, Makua Lani, 97; Ahren Ah Chong, Kamehameha, 98; John Andrade, Kamehameha, 100; Eric Kagawa, Waiakea, 102; Brant Yamamoto, Kona, 102; Cody Pinzon, Hilo, 104; Bram Paikui, Kamehameha, 107; Kaunaloa Ng, Makua Lani, 113; Dayral Nakamoto, Kealakehe, 113; Kalani Alapai, Makua Lani, 118; Miller White, HPA, 120; Tanner Gray, Kona, 122

Team scores

Kamehameha, 75-86-98-100—359; Waiakea, 82-86-97-97—361; Kona, 90-94-102-122—408; Makua Lani, 85-97-113-118—413


Andi Igawa, Waiakea, 88; Shantel Antonio, Kamehameha, 95; Healani Kaaihili, Kamehameha, 107; Alana Manuia, Kamehameha, 107; Annie Sadamoto, Hilo, 109; Katie Jefferson, HPA, 111; Chelsea Ward, Hilo, 113; Kelsy Nishimura, Hilo, 114; Keely Kitamura, Waiakea, 133; Taylor Pritchett, Kealakehe, 134; Karissa Komo, Makua Lani, 136; Sunny Sakai, Hilo, 144

Team scores

Kamehameha, 95-107-107—309; Hilo, 109-113-114—336


Rules for posting comments