Monday | November 20, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

State boys D-I basketball tournament schedule


Interscholastic League of Honolulu champion Iolani has been named the No. 1 seed in this week’s Hawaii High School Athletic Association’s Division I boys basketball championships.

The 12-team event will run Wednesday through Saturday in Honolulu.

The top four seeds are No. 1 Iolani (10-3), No. 2 Farrington (13-1), the Oahu Interscholastic Association champion; No. 3 Baldwin (13-1), the Maui Interscholastic League champion; and No. 4 Konawaena (11-2), the Big Island Interscholastic Federation champion. They draw first-round byes Wednesday.

In first-round games Wednesday at the McKinley High gym, it’s Campbell (11-2, OIA No. 2) vs. Leilehua (13-4, OIA No. 6) at 5 p.m., and MIL runner-up Lahainaluna (10-6) vs. Kalaheo (11-4, OIA No. 3) at 7 p.m. At the Radford High gym, it’s BIIF runner-up Waiakea (10-3) vs. Mililani (14-2, OIA No. 5) at 5 p.m. and Maryknoll (10-3, ILH runner-up) vs. Moanalua (12-6, OIA No. 4) at 7 p.m.

In Thursday’s quarterfinals at McKinley, it’s Konawaena vs. the Campbell-Leilehua winner at 5 p.m. and Iolani vs. the Lahainaluna-Kalaheo winner at 7 p.m. At Radford, it’s Farrington vs. the Waiakea-Mililani winner at 5 p.m. and Baldwin vs. the Maryknoll-Moanalua winner at 7 p.m.

The tournament moves to Blaisdell Arena for Friday’s and Saturday’s games. The semifinals will be played at 5 and 7 p.m. Friday; the championship game at 7 p.m. Saturday.


Rules for posting comments