Tuesday | January 17, 2017
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

DLNR closing three West Hawaii parks early on Friday

The Department of Land and Natural Resources Division of State Parks will conduct early closures of three West Hawaii parks on the Fourth of July holiday.

Hapuna Beach State Recreation Area, including the Waialea Bay section, Kekaha Kai State Park, including the Maniniowali Beach/Kua Bay and Mahaiula Beach sections, and Kiholo State Park reserve will close at 5 p.m. Friday.

“We are closing these facilities early to discourage use of fireworks, which is prohibited in state parks, and to protect the public and natural resources of the areas,”said DLNR Chairperson William J. Aila Jr.

Normal park hours will resume on Saturday as follows:

Hapuna Beach State Recreation Area – 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Kekaha Kai State Park – 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Kiholo State Park reserve – 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

As a reminder, tents may not be set up at Wailoa River State Park in Hilo without a permit.


Rules for posting comments